CA Car Insurance Facts for Golden State Drivers
California drivers need to remember they reside in an at-fault state, meaning the driver who causes a traffic accident is responsible for the auto damages affecting victims. Understanding your CA car insurance policy is crucial to getting the best rates. Use this automobile insurance guide to discover your coverage options.
Golden State Insurance Basics
All drivers in the state must carry California car insurance and meet minimum insurance coverage requirements. Drivers must carry at least bodily liability coverage with minimum limits of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. You also need property damage coverage of at least $5,000 per accident. The average annual car insurance cost for drivers in the state is around $950.
It’s crucial to understand these payouts are only available for victims who file claims, not the driver who caused the crash. Getting full coverage, which lenders usually require, will fill in any gaps and provide financial relief if you’re hit by an at-fault driver who lacks appropriate insurance.
Often Overlooked Car Insurance Options
You can actually bypass an insurance agency completely by investing in your own financial safety net. In California, the DMV issues self-insurance certificates for drivers who can make a cash deposit of $35,000 to the DMV. Another option is to purchase a surety bond for the same amount from a state-licensed surety bond firm. In the $35,000 surety bond scenario, the driver will have to pay out of their own pocket if the victim’s damages exceed that amount.
Encountering the Legal Process
In California, a driver must be proven to be at-fault before their insurance company is required to pay the party filing the claim. If neither party agrees to take responsibility for the collision, the case may end up in court. Note that a high percentage of personal injury traffic cases are ultimately settled out of court.
The court can hold you partly responsible for the accident, consequently reducing your claim’s value. Suppose your car is struck by an at-fault driver, causing $10,000 in damages to your vehicle. However, the court finds you to be 10% responsible for the crash. That means $1,000 will be subtracted from $10,000, and you’ll get a final payout of $9,000.
Once a driver is proven to be at fault, their insurer must pay for medical bills and damages, including auto repair work and lost income. It’s difficult to precisely predict the outcome of a court case at the filing stage unless the evidence is clearly indisputable.
If you ever have to file a CA car insurance claim, make sure you work with legal specialists who have plenty of experience representing similar personal injury cases. A legal assistant can help ensure your filing process goes smoothly, increasing the odds of a quick settlement.
How to Get the Best Car Insurance Rates
The best car insurance rates from the driver’s perspective can be reduced by lowering risk factors that play into how premiums are determined. Your driving record is a primary factor, as safe drivers get rewarded while dangerous drivers are penalized. That means you must follow traffic laws and practice defensive driving consistently to ensure the safety of your passengers and others on the road.
One of the emerging trends and technologies among advanced insurance companies is telemetry, which involves devices installed in cars that monitor driving behavior. The device known as a telemeter sends a radio signal to the insurer, which collects, stores, and evaluates the data to determine driver safety scores. Driving behavior such as following the speed limit and making safe turns is documented as real-time data.
Another way to lower car insurance rates via telemeters is to simply drive less. You won’t be alone since many people have been forced to work at home or were laid off, leading to less crowded roads during COVID-19. The less you drive, the more you’ll be contributing to a reduction of traffic congestion and pollution.
If you don’t have to go anywhere on certain days, find ways to avoid or limit driving. Consider walking or riding a bike if your destination is within your neighborhood, such as a grocery store. Walking is excellent exercise and contributes to better health by giving the body a chance to move and relax various muscles.
The best way to ensure you get a bargain on your auto insurance is to talk directly with your insurance agent. Find out if the firm offers a good driver discount or other deals that pertain to you. Keep in mind there are various other factors besides your driving record that determine your monthly premium, such as the crime rate of your zip code (which determines the risk of car theft) and the type of vehicle you drive.
There are many insurance companies to choose from in the state. However, be aware that each firm is different, and some are in the business more for profits than helping create safer driving conditions and provide financial protection.
Drivers in California should understand their auto insurance options so that they have coverage that matches their needs. Talk to your home insurance agent today to learn more about finding the right, suitable California auto insurance for all your needs. For all of your auto insurance you deserve, talk to the professionals at Little & Sons Insurance Services, serving Banning and neighboring cities in California, Arizona, and Texas. We look forward to getting to know you and your vehicle needs so that we can offer tailored solutions to give you peace of mind.